Columbia - During its December board meeting, the Municipal Association board of directors elected Sheryl Patrick, councilmember from the Town of Santee, to its statewide board of directors to serve in an at-large seat for an unexpired term through July 2013.
Patrick is a retired businesswoman and was elected to the Town of Santee council in 1996. She has been serving continuously since her election. Patrick was elected mayor pro tempore in 2010. She graduated from the Municipal Association's Municipal Elected Officials Institute in 1998, is a graduate of Leadership Orangeburg in 2004 and completed the National League of Cities Leadership Training Institute in 2005 and 2006.
She is the mother of three children and grandmother of three.
The board of directors consists of the elected officers, immediate past president, three at-large positions and 10 other members of the Municipal Association selected from each of the 10 regional planning districts. The board has general control and supervision of the Association and is empowered to determine all policy questions.
# # #
The Municipal Association of South Carolina is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit Association of incorporated cities and towns dedicated to raising the standards of municipal government through a broad range of services.