The South Carolina Municipal Insurance and Risk Financing Fund Board of Trustees nominated and members have elected three new board members. SCMIRF, a program of the Municipal Association of SC, was formed in 1990 as a result of limited availability of property and liability insurance coverage targeted specifically to municipal governments. There are 105 members of SCMIRF. 

New board members elected for a three-year term 

Dennis Pieper - manager, Town of Fort Mill
Nick Shorter - administrative services director, City of Sumter
Returning board member elected for second three-year term
Brian Buck - police chief, Town of Irmo 
SCMIRF provides member cities with municipal-specific insurance coverage, claims processing, training and loss control assistance. In addition to the property and liability program designed specifically for municipal governments, it also offers free onsite and online training, grant funding, access to a labor hotline and other benefits.